November 14, 2016

Hilton CSD Sports Hall of Fame Induction - Dec. 28

Hilton High School Sports Hall of Fame will induct eight outstanding athletes on Wednesday, Dec. 28 at Hilton High School. They will be recognized for their achievements at Hilton High School and at the college level. This year’s honored Hilton CSD athletes are: David Heise '93 (Soccer, Basketball); Carlton Moore '96 (Basketball); Amanda Griggs '06 (Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track); Rebecca Ritchie '06 (Soccer, Volleyball and Outdoor Track); John Picardo '07 (Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track); Allison Sawyer '07 (Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track); Caroline Schultz '07 (Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track); and Eric Fontanez '09 (Indoor and Outdoor Track).

The Induction Ceremony will be held during the Hilton High School Hall of Fame Boys Basketball Tournament. All members of the Hilton Sports Hall of Fame and community members are invited to attend the reception at 4 p.m. followed by the presentation of inductees in the auditorium at 4:30 p.m. The inductees will also be recognized in the gym at the beginning of Hilton varsity game vs. Lancaster at 6:15 p.m.

The Hilton Central School District Sports Hall of Fame annually recognizes those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Hilton athletic program, and in some cases at a higher level, through their participation as athletes, coaches or administrators. Candidates must be graduates of Hilton High School for a minimum of five years or retired coaches from the Hilton Central School District. Candidates are those who have made outstanding contributions to the Hilton sports program or established themselves in the field of athletics at the local, state, national or international level (professional, Olympic, college athlete, coach, etc.); students who, while in high school, received athletic honors such as All-American, All-State, All-Greater Rochester, State/Sectional Championship, Athlete of the Year or All-County. (Overall team success and multiple-sport participation may also be considered.) Any student who participated in Hilton athletics may be considered under special circumstances.

Members of the selection committee are: Brian Bartalo, Hilton High School principal and former swim coach; Tom Coyle '55, former statistician and record keeper; Jeff Merkel '85, athlete and track/cross country coach;  Mike Whelehan '75, athlete and coach; Dick LeBeau, retired athletic director and coach; Ken Krause, former soccer coach, teacher and current athletic coordinator;  and Michael Giruzzi, director of  Physical Education and Athletics.